Light meter indicating a correct exposure

batmura

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a total beginner with a Nikon d3100 and I have a question. Sorry if this sounds dumb but I really need to understand this. I have been reading Bryan Peterson's Understanding Exposure lately and I really enjoy his explanations about the photographic triangle, but I am still not clear on one thing. Whenever he explains the logic behind one of his shots, he says something along the lines of the camera's light meter indicating a "correct" exposure or the light meter indicating 1/250 sec as the correct exposure -- I would like to know where this crucial piece of information is displayed. Owning a good entry level camera I think the viewfinder should tell me? I have been trying the manual mode a lot these days and fiddling with the settings a lot. I am getting a lot of under and overexposed shots which I believe is the reason why I still cannot figure out where and when the camera indicates the correct exposure.

I will appreciate any detailed AND simple explanations on this one because I cannot proceed with the book without understanding this key info otherwise.

Thanks!

This will be covered in your camera's manual (You did read it, right?). The meter display is the series of bars at the bottom of your viewfinder. The '0' in the middle is "correct" exposure, according to the camera and the number of bars illuminated either to the left or right indicates a varying degree of under/over exposure.

A proper exposure is any combination of shutter speed, aperture and ISO that will both prevent the highlights from being blown out while retaining details in the shadows.