Lighting help needed

pixelboy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello to everyone. First post here and delighted to be able to join in the forum chat :)

I have a reasonable grasp of photography and feel pretty comfortable both in outdoor scenarios and in the studio. Where I fall down is with Speedlites both on and off camera in smallish rooms. No matter how hard I try to get interesting light and shadows on a subject, I end up just flooding them with light and getting boring flat looks.

Using studio strobes I've got good results and know how to use an elinchrom deep octa and position it to get what I want, which is good contrast between highlights and shadows and interesting light on the subject's face. I'm pretty new to speedlites but I'd like to use them more as I've been asked to take pictures in peoples' homes a lot recently.

I'm guessing I need to get out some black material to kill the spill but this isn't always easy to do when shooting a child in a small light-coloured room. Maybe I'm missing something really obvious and maybe this is a bit of a daft question to start off my forum postings with but I'd appreciate some guidance if possible. As I say I'm pretty new to speedlites and all help would be most welcome.

I would try using an enclosed umbrella, like the UK-made Lastolite Umbrella Box. It keeps the spill much more manageable than with other types of umbrellas. There is in fact, almost no "spill" or "bounce-back" or "scatter" from the Lastolite Umbrella Box.

The Lastolite Ezy-box works very well too; the 30" size is perfect for Speedlight use, and it's got deep edges which work well, and is available with a grid.

Speedy replies! Thank you. I appreciate your advice.