Lighting Kit

Discussion in 'Lighting and Hardware' started by Summer75, Dec 25, 2015.

1. Summer75

Summer75 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I want to get a lighting kit (to ship to Canada) for still photos. My main issue is that my budget is between 100-200 dollars and I want something portable with a carrying case. I have been looking around and am so lost. Can someone point me in the right direction?

2. Summer75

Summer75 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
  3. jcdeboever

jcdeboever TPF Supporters Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    I am no expert but I think a couple stands, umbrella flash brackets, umbrellas, trigger/receivers, should be less than $100 while utilizing speed lights if you have them. Personally, I would not trust those monolights. If I were in the market for mono's, I would save my money up and buy Adorama's Flashpoint 320 or 620 kit.

Check this thread out. Attention to Derrel
    General Critique #2 Please | Photography Forum

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Last edited: Dec 26, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  4. jcdeboever

jcdeboever TPF Supporters Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit
    The "shipping to Canada" part will be what kills this deal...the rates are very prohibitive. You might want to see what the larger Canadian-based retailers or e-Bay dealers can offer you. The Cowboy STudio, two-light,two umbrella, two-stand deal **is** cheap lighting gear...that's why the price is low. I know the Canadian dollar is not very strong right now, but $375 sounds like too much to me: those monolights are cheapies...similar ones from Adorama, with non-replaceable flashtubes, are $49 to $69 typically.