Lightroom and HDR

Stephen.C

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Right now as my editing software I use Paint.net, and it really is only good for minor touch ups, and I wish to upgrade to a real program.
I was looking at lightroom, and I downloaded the trial. Mainly I am looking to edit my photos, use curves, and contrast, but I really want to try out HDR photos. Can lightroom make HDR images? I google'd it and I am not really finding a clear answer. I mean its 300 dollars, I think it should heh.
Also on a side note, Is lightroom 3 worth the money? Or is it better to go full out and buy CS5? Please take into consideration that I am not a pro, but I am looking to get serious about my photography. I am also a High school student, so my budget is not the best.
Thank you!

No. Lightroom cannot merge multiple images to do HDR.

Lightroom's primary function is image database management.

The image editing function is secondary and is essentially Adobe Camera RAW 6.

If you want to do HDR, look at Photomatix Pro at www.hdrsoft.com.

Lightroom lacks many of the best image editing functions Photoshop has, like layers and the selections tools.

Consequently, a photographer that generates a large number of images, and frequently needs to edit pixels usually wants both Lightroom and CS.

Last edited:
Ugh thats NOT what I want to hear haha.
Is it worth it to just get Lightroom, or would it not be worth it unless I got both?
I really only want to buy one :)
Also, what makes Lightroom worth 300$?

Lightroom is a very useful tool, actually. I've used it for about a year now, and I really don't know what I would do without it.

As KmH mentioned, Lightroom is not a graphics editing program in the strictest sense. But KmH also severely understates its abilities, making it sound as though it is literally nothing more than a photo database system.