looking for a miracle

lingling

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to photgraphy and love it but it doesn't seem to love me.
I have taken a few local classes on exposure, compensation and a few other basic things and it seems all peachy keen on paper but my ability to apply is not so good!
I have a Nikon d90 and a 50mm f1.8 and a speedlight 600. But I have been unsucessful as of now to get a crisp picture. I shoot indoors 99% of the time and only of my kids. My goal is to capture my children's childhood. I have a daughter with bright blue eyes and you'd never know from my pics! I don't do any post processing yet, I want to master the camera first.

I shoot on s,m, and A but I am ever so tempted to shoot in Auto!

Here is an example of my constant struggle.

jan2009039-1.jpg

I think shutter speed is a huge issue with my kids who never sit still and I have my white balance on auto which I am not sure if I should.

I am totally looking to learn so don't be nice, I have thick skin.

jan2009083.jpg

welcome to the forum...if you came here to learn, this is the spot...there is a TON of knowledge on this board, and the people are great. you'll love your stay.

i think your second image is definitely on the right track.
something is certainly up with that first one...looks to me like a slow shutter speed (making the image soft) and some funky WB settings.

you mention that you shoot in A M or S...dont be afraid to try P (if the 90 has it)...im finding it to be a nice transition from Auto. (and good on ya for avoiding auto :D)

im sure more/better advice will come along, but in the meantime...shoot shoot shoot...try different things...that SB600 is a great tool. angle it, bounce it, diffuse it...lots of fun to be had there. i've not handled the d90, so im envious of that.

soak it up...

I agree with trying the P setting. If nothing else it is also a good starting point and you can adjust your apreture and shutter speed from there.