Looking for a new lens.

Zach

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm still really new to photography and I'm wanting a lens with a little more reach over my 18-55mm. I want to shoot sports and animals from a distance, so I need a fast lens right? I've tried to do a search for this lens and can't seem to get my question answered. I've been told to stay away from the "G" lenses, but I'm not sure why. I'm using a D50.

Nikon Nikkor AF 70-300mm 70-300 mm F/4-5.6 G Zoom Lens - eBay (item 250342905153 end time Jan-13-09 06:16:48 PST)

Also, are these filters good for macro shots?

55mm Close Up Filter Lens Set +1, +2, +4 & Macro *New - eBay (item 140268606742 end time Dec-18-08 08:56:16 PST)

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
firstly the filters are definatly not going to help at all, far too cheap to warrent the risk, chances are they will give poor results at that price.
As for the lens its got a good focal range, but understand that its considered a budget level lens. It offers a lot of range, but its speed (the maximum aperture) is not that fast past 70mm (at which is it f4 - its f5.6 out at 300mm- not unusably slow but not the fastest) and chances are at the 300mm end its going to suffer from softness.
Its a good lens when you are on budget and need the range and quality - at least for websized images of around 1000 pixels or less with a sharpen after you resize the image - will be decent.

If your after macro you might consider the Sigma 70-300mm APO macro, which whilst its macro is not strong enough to allow you to full the frame with an insect, it will let you fill the frame with something like an open flower head. Again its a budget lens that offers a lot and is not really a master of any.