Looking for a new monitor. Any suggestions?

Branden

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been searching online for new displays better than my current ASUS PA248Q. It took me forever to buy that one. lol There are slews of choices available. NEC’s PA241W-BK and PA271W-BK are a couple. There are others out there I have yet to consider. Anything else you would recommend? I want to keep the cost low. 1k is the cap I have set. I use my monitors for software development, photo editing, video editing and occasional gaming. 100% sRGB coverage is important to me. It must display colors accurately after calibration. I know this must be done regularly. Are there any calibration tools you recommend too by the way? I have been eyeballing both NEC’s SpectraView II and X-Rite ColorMunki Photo. I also intend to mount this to a 75/100 VESA stand.

I am a professional photo retouch artist (I use CS6). I use a Lacie 324 and it's calibration unit (very easy to use).....by far the best monitor I have ever used, LOVE IT!

LaCie - LCD Monitors

Do not go for the lacie monitor. Go for a Asus PA249Q or a PA279Q. Or even a dell Ultrasharp.

The first one is about $465 and the second one is about $800. Compared to the LaCie they are far ahead and cheaper. Both monitors are 99% (Adobe RGB), 100% (sRGB), 120% (NTSC) compared to Lacie's 102% of NTSC, 98% of AdobeRGB. That's a more accurate color.

LaCie has a contrast ratio of 1000:1 compared to the 80000000:1(PA24Q) and 100000000:1(PA279Q)

Note that you won't see the true 10-bit colors of any of these monitors unless you have a graphics card that output 10bit. ex. Nvidia Quadro K4000