Looking for a tripod head...

TheBiles

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I have zero experience with shopping for a tripod and accessories, but I decided on the Manfrotto 055XPROB legs based off the reviews and reputation of Manfrotto. Which ball head would you recommend, and what kinds of features should I be looking for with one? I'd like to keep it under $50 so that my whole tripod purchase doesn't go over $200 (though I'm also looking at the 190XPROB, which would give me $25 more flexibility in the head).

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
So I have zero experience with shopping for a tripod and accessories, but I decided on the Manfrotto 055XPROB legs based off the reviews and reputation of Manfrotto. Which ball head would you recommend, and what kinds of features should I be looking for with one? I'd like to keep it under $50 so that my whole tripod purchase doesn't go over $200 (though I'm also looking at the 190XPROB, which would give me $25 more flexibility in the head).

I just bought this set-up from bhphoto and very very pleased. Rebates too. I won't mount anything heavier than a 70-200 and this fits my needs as a hobbyist:

Manfrotto 055CXPRO 3-SECTION TRIPOD - MA055CXPRO3

Manfrotto 322RC2 GRIP ACTION BALL HEAD - MA322RC2

Manfrotto 35" TRIPOD BAG (BLACK) f/3011/21/33 - MA3280B

I just bought this set-up from bhphoto and very very pleased. Rebates too. I won't mount anything heavier than a 70-200 and this fits my needs as a hobbyist:

Manfrotto 055CXPRO 3-SECTION TRIPOD - MA055CXPRO3

Manfrotto 322RC2 GRIP ACTION BALL HEAD - MA322RC2

Manfrotto 35" TRIPOD BAG (BLACK) f/3011/21/33 - MA3280B

That is one sexy ball head, but I think it may be out of my budget.

THINK USED!!!! You can get twice the tripod for the money on Craig's List or Used <Your City>. I would look for something along the lines of Manfrotto's 054 series.