looking for criticism

kgstyle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hey everyone kinda new to the photography world and have been trying to get better with my new dlsr as well as editing my shots. please feel free to criticize these few shots i took this weekend thanks.

4280927830_775d220582_o.jpg

4278996477_82139bb16e_o.jpg

4278984583_3ccb1bdf1c_o.jpg

4279727650_2a4471651a_o.jpg

What kind of camera were these taken with?

The quality seems very low. Nothing that it looks like you did wrong, just bad quality.

its a nikon d60 with tokina 11-16mm f2.8 and a sb-600 flash. like i said im a beginner trying to get better so if there is something i could do just let me know thanks

Is it set to JPG Fine? or RAW?

Also, maybe your shutter speed was too fast in the first one? For some reason they remind me of the pictures my old 640x480 digital camera took. I don't know enough myself to tell you why.

#1- Composition isn't bad but the hard shadows are distracting. Sky looks underexposed on my monitor and the rocks could benefit from some more detail in the shadows. What is the white haze/flair above the rocks to camera right?

#2- Composition could be better and lacks interest. The horizon splits the image 50/50. Read up on the thirds rule. Color of sky is rendered well. Hard shadows again. You lost all detail in the rocks.

#3- Horizon is composed better than #2. Underexposed.

#4- Horizon looks uneven and the highlights are blown on the water. Read up on the effects shutter speed can have on moving water.

Keep it up.

The first shot almost looks like you tried an hdr effect or something? There is a halo effect around part of the pier and the sky looks unnatural. Not sure if you were trying for the rocks, but personally I would have taken the shot from the other side of the pier if possible.