Looking for just one lens that is good for travel

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by aneet01, Feb 8, 2018.

1. aneet01

aneet01 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hello,

I am new to photography. I recently bought Nikon D7200 and looking to buy one lens that is sufficient for travel. I wanted to know what is the difference between the following two lens and which one which one should I buy?
    Nikon 18-300 f3.5-6.3G ($699)
    Nikon 18-300 f3.5-5.6G ($999)

Thanks,

2. Cortian

Cortian No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    Well, the f/3.5-5.6 is going to be faster at 300mm, and possibly at shorter focal lengths, than the other. That may not be a factor unless you're shooting wildlife or sports, or in low light.

"Sufficient" is in the hands of the user, and I'm a Canon user, so I cannot speak to those two lenses, but, in general terms...

For a "walking-about" lens those may be kind of big and/or heavy. Secondly: It's been mentioned that anything over a zoom factor of about 10:1 you start running into fairly significant compromises in image quality. Those are 17:1.

There are a lot of good comments about zoom lengths and the like in Does anyone have a Tamron 18-400 lens..just want to hear about it ,incl some comments about some Nikon lenses.

3. jccash

jccash TPF Noob!

I use the Tamron 18-400 with my D500. First nine Nikon lens I’ve ever owned. Works great for me.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Superzoom (10x+ zoom range) lenses are convenient but all of them have optical aberrations (image quality issues) of one sort or another at various ranges of their zoom range. There's just no way to design a lens with that much focal length range that doesn't have the optical aberrations.

Many people are willing to accept superzoom lens image quality issues because of the convenience.