looking for my first dslr

hannah.mae08

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hey there,
i'm new to photography and i'm buying my first dslr next month.

i was thinking of buying nikon d5000 since it's an entry level for beginners like me.
i was also thinking of nikon d90 but it's more like for experienced photographers.
i'm also considering canon 500d.

so it's a battle of nikon d5000 vs. canon 500d.

which one should i get? :razz:

Nikon vs Canon is a debate that will never end. both will give you good quality. best advice is see if you van get to the store and get a hold of both see which one is more you.
Good luck

Do a quick search. There is actually a thread in one of these recent pages w/ your exact same question. Just go hold both whatever feels good pick it. You won't be dissapointed w/ either camera. GL and enjoy!
TJ

I agree do a search, but ill answer anyways.

For The Nikon vs Canon debate the easiest way to find out which brand you like better is to go into the shop and hold both in your hands. See which one feels better to you. (edit: Iggs already said this)

As for cameras compare them, that link is based solely on image quality.

The problem with the D5000 is that it can only autofocus AF-S and AF-I lenses because it dosent have a focusing motor in its body, this reduces the range of your lenses. A while ago I was deciding cameras and I decided to go D90 pretty much due to that quality alone.

The best way is to go into the store and compare all of them.

Nikon vs Canon is a debate that will never end. both will give you good quality. best advice is see if you van get to the store and get a hold of both see which one is more you.
Good luck

:thumbup::thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:

i like the nikon D5000 better personally due to the fact that i like the menu set up and the way the buttons are laid out, but thats my preference

Compare cameras