Looking to buy a new lens for my Canon Rebel XT

jgonz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone :)

I've been an amateur photographer for several years and have finally saved up a chunk of money to invest in a new lens. So far I've been looking at these:

Amazon.com: Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Medium Telephoto Lens for Canon SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo
Amazon.com: Canon EF 50mm f1.4 USM Standard & Medium Telephoto Lens for Canon SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo
Amazon.com: Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Standard Zoom Lens for Canon SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo
http://www.amazon.com/Canon-15-85mm-3-5-5-6-Digital-Cameras/dp/B002NEGTTM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1311470633&sr=8-2
[URL]http://www.amazon.com/Canon-EF-S-17-55mm-Lens-Cameras/dp/B000EW8074/ref=reg_hu-rd_add_1_dp

[/URL]
I'm looking for a lens that will perform well for portraits or relaxed shooting, or action shots, and will give me a good image in low lighting without having to jack the ISO up. Bonuses would be nice landscape/far away shots.

I currently only have 2 lenses; an 18-55mm stock lens and a 75-300mm.

Looking forward to reading your suggestions! Thanks a bunch. ;)

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I hear the 85 1.8 is a complete beast of a lens, I don't use Canon but if I did I would own it!! I've seen some the results from this lens, truly beautiful! I've just got the nikon equivalent lens and I hear it isn't quite as good as the Canon.