Looking to improve

STiZzle2010

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
For those who do not know, I am very new to photography. I've been shooting since I got my DSLR in March and went straight to manual. Through critique on forums and photography groups is how I've been learning but, I'm always trying to do better.

Yesterday my wife and I were at a park with my son taking advantage of the 65 degree temps in November. Any CC on exposure, composition, editing, etc is very much appreciated.

Taken with a Nikon D5500, Nikkor 50mm 1.8G, and edited in Lightroom.
f/2.5, 1/200th, ISO 200, flash fired.
JMH_0044 by Hebee's Visions, on Flickr

He's such a cutie! I'm pretty new to this as well. I like the photo overall. The only thing I don't like is that I knew you used a flash without reading your text. Yes, I'm a scroll to the pic first kind of girl.

Can you adjust the angle of your flash so that it's not directly on him? You want fill light around him rather than illuminating one side of him. And you can do that with an adjustable flash or some other tricks that others may share that I haven't tried yet.

Not bad. Shows the concentration of the child. If anything, I'd say the flash was just a bit too much power. Composition isn't great. Your focus looks good, but the fence is a distraction. I think you left too much empty frame to the right of your subject.

BTW: and this has nothing to do with your photo, but in your opening paragraph you said "..went straight to manual." Back in the olden days that's all we had. Manual everything, including focus. Now these days people think they have to "go straight to manual" in order to gain street cred.

So now that you've established that you were in full manual, did you bracket your shots here? I mean; if the flash looks a little hot to me, did it look hot to you as well? And then did you dial back on the flash power for a subsequent shot?