Looking to start photo business, need some help

bdavis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been doing a lot of shoots lately. I started out doing free shoots with models from Model Mayhem to build their portfolios and mine. So far it's been working pretty good. However, now that I've got some good experience, I would like to start charging and make this more of a business, but I'm running into a few problems:

1. What are some cost-effective ways to attract new clients and get the word out? I've done some advertisements on craigslist and facebook, but haven't really got any hits on doing shoots.

2. Pricing. Whenever I describe my pricing to someone, it seems to turn them off to the idea of shooting completely. I don't think my pricing is bad for what they get, but for some reason I have lots of problems landing paid gigs.

I would love to start doing this to earn extra income and upgrade my gear a bit, but these two issues are really holding me back. Any insight from the professionals out there?

Thanks!

What is your pricing? it is hard to comment on that when we don't know what it is.

Sorry, here is my sample pricing. Since I do a lot of modeling shoots, this is tailored more towards the modeling audience.

Package 1 – $550
4-6 Hour Shoot
2 creative photographers
Professional Makeup Artist
50 professionally printed comp cards
50-60 web resolution images on a disc
Online gallery for proofing/ordering

Package 2 – $325
3 hours shooting time
2 8x10s of your choice
11x14 of your choice
50 "mini" rep cards
20 web resolution photos on a disc

Package 3 – $200
2 hours shooting time
2 8x10s of your choice
25 "mini" rep cards

Package 4 – $75
1 hour shooting time
8x10 photo of your choice

What kind of background do you have in business, marketing, and sales?

85% of the skill needed for running a photography business is business/marketing/sales skill. 15% is about your skill as a photographer.