Low-budget IPS monitor?

kooker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello fine folk of thephotoforum.com,

I'm an amateur photographer with less then a year of experience, and few days ago, while viewing my pictures on friend's computer, I realized that need a new monitor. As a professional software developer I chose my current monitor to be low-contrast, low-brightness one -- good for text-work. True color matching also wasn't required.

Now I need exactly the opposite: rich colors, good contrast, good diagonal, etc. Research suggested an IPS monitor, but being on a low budget (comfort zone stretches only to $320) I need to make some compromises and can't buy what is really desired. My list of monitors boils down to the following:

LG IPS225V
Pros: Recent model, good factory calibration.
Cons: Really hard to get one where I live (Canada)

HP Zr22w
Pros: Good reviews.
Cons: Old model, at the top end of my price range.

ViewSonic VP2365WB
Pros: Good factory calibration, good overall quality.
Cons: Costs a bit more than I want to spend, relatively old model.

ASUS ML249H
Pros: Good reviews, really good price, relatively recent model.
Cons: Glossy frame (big thing for me), height is not adjustable, it seem screen reflects a bit more than what I would be comfortable with.

NEC Ea232wmi-Bk
Pros: People like it a lot.
Cons: At the top of my price range.

Now, presumably technological progress is made every day, so whenever I say something like "older model", I only express concern that MAYBE it is the case that for the same price one could get a monitor where some of the known glitches have been eliminated, it's not a monitor's real disadvantage.

Could you please share your opinions on these guys? If you own one, say what you think; if you own(-ed) few of these, how do they compare?

Thank you so much,
Looking forward to long discussion
smile.png

Cheers

P.S. To be honest, after some thought I'm leaning toward either ASUS ML249H of NEC Ea232wmi-Bk...