Low quality photos in indoor low-light setting

interlude

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I use a Canon 7D with EFS 17-85mm lens and I am very very new to photography.

I want to improve on the quality of photos in indoor low-light settings where flash is not allowed, as they are currently turning out pretty poor and I am not sure why.

In this particular photo, I had it set to ISO/1600 and F/5.6. I also tried ISO/1600 and F/4. This was equally poor in quality.

Can anyone advise me how to make sure my photos are crisp in low-light indoor settings, where I can't use flash?

Really appreciate any help - Thanks :)

Attachments

• $IMG_3485.JPG
    $IMG_3485.JPG
    318.7 KB · Views: 214
It looks like your problem here isn't so much settings as you missed focus or your shutter speed was too slow. What was your shutter speed for these shots? The noise in them is there, but I don't think that's what you're missing. I think you missed focus and/or got camera shake blur and/or motion blur.

edit: on second look, it definitely looks like you missed focus.

I don't think so. The face and hair of the woman in black on the left is in pretty good focus. The shot was 50mm and 1/50 @ f/5.6 and ISO 1600. I think a lot of it was depth of field and/or motion blur.

Thanks for the feedback - appreciate it!

The shutter speed was 1/50.

I don't think so. The face and hair of the woman in black on the left is in pretty good focus. The shot was 50mm and 1/50 @ f/5.6 and ISO 1600. I think a lot of it was depth of field and/or motion blur.

Motion blur would cause everything to be equally blurry. Like you said, parts of it are more and less blurry, which equals missing focus, at least I think. If it's low light, it could have just been his camera was having a hard time focusing from that far away (ie his af assist light would have been useless)

Again, here's another shot which is just as poor. ISO/1600, F/4, shutter speed was 1/40. The faces are not crisp at all.

$IMG_3472.JPG