Make up artist shoot.

ayeelkay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.photographicinterpretations.webs.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
A local make up artist had me take photos for her new website and business cards. There were about 15 shots she ended up wanting to use for her website. The majority were black and white with selective color - which I'm not usually a fan of. Just wanted to post three of my favorites to have come critique :) The only thing that bothers me a bit - the first photo is a little soft.

864845_medium.jpg

864841_medium.jpg

864840_medium.jpg

Of these three, #1 is my clear favorite. I like it's composition and the pose - you were able to get the "I'm a makeup artist" elements of the brush and mirror into the shot without obscuring any of the subject. Her position, while clearly posed, still manages to look relaxed (as compared with #2, in which she looks stiff). The lighting here is less harsh than in the other two. The only spot I'd take another look at is the back of her brush hand (the fingers holding the brush are borderline blown out, it's tough to be sure on my monitor here - but it's nothing you can't burn a bit if needed). I also like that you can actually see her eyes in this one. Oh, and I wouldn't worry at all about it being a bit soft in focus. For a makeup artist you want to convey the feeling of soft, smooth skin. Look at it from the point of view of a potential makeup artist client, not as a photographer.