Making a living off Photography

SabrinaO

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to the serious/professional aspects of photography and im just wondering if you all "got rich" or make your living solely on being a photographer? Right now im working a job that pays really well and I never live paycheck to paycheck, but I want to eventually just do photography and im wondering if its a strong enough field to help support the fam. I mean you all began somewhere right? I mean photography is an EXPENSIVE hobby and I won't just go out and by that $2,000 lens, or a nice $1,200 body. You were all like me at one point right? Basically what I want to hear is that once I get the ball rolling...money will start pouring in.

I started as a hobby, and I intend to do occasional shoots for people for a decent price not to try to "get rich", but to help support my hobby.

I make enough money in my current profession that I am not trying to start something else to make it big.

The average self-employed photographer in the US makes about $30,000 a year, on gross revenues of about $150,00 a year ($12,500 a month).

Only the top 10% of photographers make over $50,000, and those photographers usually have their business in major photography markets, like NYC, L.A., Chicago, etc.

Look here: http://www.ehow.com/about_4699761_yearly-income-photographer.html#ixzz16obhcWy2

1200 for a nice body? I wanna spend 2700 on my next one! LOL

What do you want to make and how much work are you willing to do?

Great post Keith.

well.. according to my accounting spreadsheet, I have spent over $5000 on gears and software and have only made just under $2000. So.. mmm yeah. Pretty hard to start it up IMO but I'm really looking forward to 2011!