Manual Focus and Override

niranjan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As i have switched to DSLR very recently , i m not getting my Camera work for me as i wish. I have been using the FILM SLR for so many years and the total MANUAL control is what i m used to. Aperture changes directly on the dial and the focus CIRCLE inside lens gives accurate FOCUS every time.

I m little confused with this new concept Autofocus with manual override. I wish to know how the complete MANUAL FOCUS mode is different from AF with manual override. (means why not go totally manual than Override option?)

Manual focus is manual focus.. You turn the focusing ring and that's it.
AF with manual override is simply autofocus with the option to override the focus after the lens has focused. AF isn't perfect, so slight modifications are sometimes needed to get it right.

Just don't forget, that with many lenses you shouldn't override AF, because you can damage its mechanism. The description on the lens should read "full-time manual".

If you had an old 35mm SLR with a prism, your viewfinder was BIG and BRIGHT and easy to focus. If you have a DSLR with a prism, or even worse, a penta-mirror, you will find that the view is smaller, darker, and harder to focus. You have to be pretty slick to focus manually faster than the AF. Play around with the AF points.

AF with manual override means that you can use the AF to get a lock onto a subject and then you can manually make adjustments to that focus to perfect it. It generally means working with focus and recompose - where you use an AF point to focus on the subject (typically the middle point) and then recompose the photo for the final composition; which likely shifts the plane of focus, thus needing the manual override to make a slight adjustment, without having to hunt for the AF/MF switch on the lens itself (which can be a pain if your lens has more than one switch).