Mareesa in Pink Dress

ElNico

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Form disclaimer - I'm a hobbyist. I do photography for fun, not to make money or make a career out of it. I've been told to mention this up front. It's also in my signature.

Two photos from a shoot last summer (the same day as the Red Riding Hood photos I posted a couple of weeks ago). Both were taken at f/3.2; shutter speed for #1 was 1/500s, #2 was 1/640s.

In additon to general C&C, I'm looking for insight into the following:

-I'd previously felt that #1 was the best photo from this set, owing the to the connection with the viewer and the model's expressive face; but on revisiting these sets recently I'm wondering if #2 might actually be better, for reasons that I find harder to pin down. Which do you think is better?

-I edited these on my previous laptop, which I think might have a dimmer screen than most other devices. Are they too bright?

Thanks! :)

#1 - #2 -

I'm no portrait photographer so my opinion may not hold a lot of weight but the first for me as she looks more relaxed and natural. In the second her pose looks a little awkward and contrived.

Well done, these are significantly better than the other shots. Your exposure is good here with detail kept in the darks of your model's hair, and the flag you've used has prevented the highlight problem you had in your other images. The posing is ok, though I think a little turn on her hips may have worked a bit better as she's very straight on.

She's very close to the background and I think that I'd have preferred to see the background straight and using a bit of symmetry in the first. I do wonder if choosing a background that contrasted more might have made the model stand out a little more and though I really like the way her dark hair frames her face and dark makeup makes here eyes pop the similar tones between the dress, her skin and the background may be worth experimenting with.