Marlin rammed our press boat:Photos and story from a photoforum member

bluewaterjon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.bluewaterjon.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is Jon Schwartz. I'm a fishing & travel photographer and writer, and I specialize in big fish photos of marlin, sharks, tuna, and sailfish from above and below the waterline. I have a photography and fishing story that you all might enjoy, from the perspective of a photographer. It's a long and wild story but I will keep it kind of brief here and if you want to follow up you can go to my website or blog for the full story and pics: http://bluewaterjon.blogspot.com/ or http://www.bluewaterjon.com/
I am a freelancer, and I also teach elementary school. I do this on my spare time. I got into this in a roundabout way, by catching big fish like marlin from kayaks; I started writing about that, then taking photos and working with photographers and video people and TV people that wanted to document what I was doing, and then I picked up a camera and became hooked on photojounalism. I put down the rod and paddles and got way into the photographer and writer role. Best move I ever made!
I do a lot of work in Kona, Hawaii, because the fish get huge there, they are close to shore, and the water is often super calm. In many locations, it would be hard from a press boat to get shots of other boats hooked up to fish that are jumping, because the boats are very far offshore, spread out, and the water conditions might be very rough. In Kona it can happen very close to shore in lake like conditions, hence my constant visits to the location.