Memory Card Formatting

Status
Not open for further replies.

PoolSharkT3i

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I just bought a Canon T3i and I'm wondering the best memory card to get for it. I would also like to know if I should format it before usage. And also is there any maintenance involved with a memory card? I'm a noob at all this so all help is appreciated thanks!

Any Sandisk will perform beyond expectations. And regardless your camera will format any SD card.

Congrats in your purchase. I like sandisk. Transcend is also good. Get at least a class 6. If your going to do video, class 10.

I've always just put them in and used without issue but nothing wrong with having the camera format.

Sent from my ......

Last edited by a moderator:
Oh, and no maintenance.

Sent from my .....

Last edited by a moderator:
So I just bought a Canon T3i and I'm wondering the best memory card to get for it. I would also like to know if I should format it before usage. And also is there any maintenance involved with a memory card? I'm a noob at all this so all help is appreciated thanks!

If you use your camera and memory card discreetly then you would not need any format. Make sure that you do not format the memory card outside the camera, otherwise the card would get corrupt. When you start using the card, you should make sure that the card does not get corrupt or damaged, otherwise the data would become inaccessible or lost. In such a situation you would have to use third party memory card recovery software.

IMO the Transcend 16GB class 10 is a nice card i use this for video and photos on the 60D if you like to do the same then this card is for you, but if you want another brand name card get a sandisk.

Question: I bought a Transcend 32GB class 10 Card for my brother. Should I try it in my 60D before it gift it? (He'll be using the card in his GoPro HD Hero video camera.) Or would that format the card?