Middle of the Road

jleon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I took this picture of my daugther on a visit back to my home town (400 TOTAL people) the only place a little girl could stand in the middle of a dirt road. Any comments? I took the color down a bit to give it an "older" feel - was that the wrong thing to do?

1/400
f 4.4
ISO 125

Those were the settings on my camera - should i have used something else? I am still learning about the "settings" part of taking pictures.

Thanks!

Attachments

• $DSC00276Half Color.JPG
    $DSC00276Half Color.JPG
    61.4 KB · Views: 112
It looks a little under exposed to me and a bit flat. Perhaps a little saturation would help.

THis is the original shot - i just thought it to be too bright.......

Attachments

• $DSC00276.JPG
    $DSC00276.JPG
    64.1 KB · Views: 107
The original looks better and is not over exposed.

Is that road near you then? You have a perfect setting to walk backwards and allow a bit of distance from her to let her do her own thing walking down the road. Stay zoomed out just a bit and get the road into the shot. Get her walking along the side glancing around. Wait until the dog (nice dog, btw, I have a 4 month old yellow Lab) is out of the shot.

I live on a back country road. I grabbed a shot of my little girl walking along. There's a cow pasture along the road with a fence. I put my daughter over on the left 3rd (rule of thirds) and have the entire road width in the photo. I desaturated a bit to give it an older look and it came out fantastic. It's one of my first images that I printed out in 8x10.