Mom With A Camera

jackieclayton

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
mominmarianas.blogspot.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
a spin off from another thread going on in the beginners forum, I wanted to get your feedback on this MWC (mom with camera).

I don't know this girl personally, but I came across her blog on another military support forum. I really enjoy her work and stalk her blog frequently, so I sent her an email asking about her background. She is a young mother who has no formal training, she is self taught... (similiar to other MWC's).

Do you think her work is credible enough to be taken seriously in the professional community? She seems very business savvy, she seems to have a dedicated clientelle, and *personally* I think her photos are outstanding.

I wanted to get the forums opinion on whether or not someone with pictures and a self owned business like this would be considered just another MWC in the photo community or is this a photog to look out for?? I certainly think this is someone to watch out for, but then again, i'm just a MWC myself, so what do you guys think?

Tara Staton Photography - Sequim Washington Photographer, Port Angeles Photographer, Port Townsend Photographer

Don't worry so much about what the 'professional community' thinks. ;)

She didn't have a lot of photos on there right now due to maintance, but what I could see was really great. I love this style anyway. All of the pros that I know are also self taught with no formal education. My friend is a sports photographer, she has a wonderful business with a staff of 3 people. She prints her stuff too. She does this full time and is making a good living at it. The best part is its what she loves.
I think some people are just born with the talent it takes. This girl seems very smart in both aspects of photography with shooting pics, and pp. She has taught herself well.

The few pictures I saw are great, she should be very proud. The website needs a speed upgrade.