movie/film printing

chrisf24

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
First let me start by saying I apologize in advance if this has been covered. As you can tell I am new to this forum, but I have done some research. First let me start by saying that I shoot mainly street, and my family. I've been shooting digital for about 3 years now. I currently have a Sony A7r2 w/ a Sony Zeiss 55mm 1.8. I will still being using this setup from time to time. BUT! I'm looking to primarily shoot with film. With tax season coming around the corner I plan on purchasing a Leica M6TTL with a 35mm voigtlander. Now, I dont want just shoot regular film, I want to focus on shooting movie film (I love the look). My first question, is there a good website to buy movie film stock (I'd rather buy in bulk and load myself, cinestill film seems expensive in the long run). I see that I can purchase the Kodak vision film without a problem but is there any other film stock that I can try out, even a site selling discontinued film. I will be using a hybrid process and scanning my negatives with my second purchase a Plustek Opticfilm 8200i. My second question is I also plan on printing images out, and was looking at possibly picking up the canon imageprograf pro-1000 and look at making 17 x 22 prints. So I was wondering if by shooting movie film, scanning it, will there be a loss of quality when making a print of that size or even bigger.. at what point does printing become out of the question in terms of quality... I am new to printing so sorry for the noob question.. thank you in advance for helping me out!

BHphoto has a small selection but the 35 mm in bulk seems quite expensive altho the reviews of the tri-x reversal are very positive (no pun intended.)