My 1st RAW shots, C&C appreciated

birdfish

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I decided to give shooting RAW a try. Some specifics I would like C&C on, white balance and exposure. I did edit them all in PSE 9. I left the WB in auto while shooting, and then changed it to what I thought was appropriate while editing. Thanks for any input. :)

1. Settings: f/2.2, 1/2500, ISO 400
January2012043Definecopy.jpg

2. f/2.2, 1/2500, ISO 400
January2012021Definecopy.jpg

3. f/2.2, 1/2500, ISO 400
January2012023BoostitandBWcopy.jpg

4. f/2.2, 1/1000, ISO 400
January20120552020copy.jpg

5. f/2.2, 1/320, ISO 100
January2012007CaramelDreamscopy.jpg

I am no expert at all, but you shot all the images @ f2.2. Don't do that!! Stopping down that aperture (larger #) could have helped you get some sharper images. Always focus on the closest eye when photographing a face.

Why did you choose to shoot at ISO 400? Judging the shuttertimes that wasn't really nescessary?

I am no expert at all, but you shot all the images @ f2.2. Don't do that!! Stopping down that aperture (larger #) could have helped you get some sharper images. Always focus on the closest eye when photographing a face.

I realize that now cannpope, thanks!! I don't know why, but I've almost always shot my Canon 50mm 1.8 at 1.8. Kinda sick to my stomach now knowing that it was a simple fix to get sharper images. Is it best to use evaluative metering when trying to focus on the closest eye??

So besides the focusing issues, does my WB look okay? Do they look properly exposed?

Using wide open aperture can give you creativity in some shots. Some lens are not as sharp wide open, some lens are. Every lens has a sweet spot, like the 50mm 1.8, I think at around 2.8-5.6 is where it's sharper. Don't quote me on that, just remember from the top of my head.

I did the same thing for the longest time..i would always have my apeture at a low number shooting portraits and they weren't very sharp.