My dog, and my first picture post here! MEEP!

chiefschic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my dog Baxter! He is a 4 y/o black lab/pit bull mix and one of my greatest loves. This poor guy gets photographed more than any other member of my family, (sorry kids!) and I don't think he minds. :D Anyway, thought I would share a couple pictures since I haven't posted here yet. I'm a newbie to the DSLR world, so be nice! :blushing:

IMG_0585.jpg

IMG_0459.jpg

I really like the first. Nice lighting. Cute expression + eye contact. It would have been stronger in portrait orientation so we could see his front paws.

You have a very nice dog, I don't care too much for the first shot, the angle of view is too high, if you get lower maybe the perspective will be a little bit better, it is also overexposed on the chest. I like the expression of the eyes though!
the second shot, although too dark, is more in focus, but you need to use exposure compensation to lighten the snow. Right now it looks too grayish, and the dog's eyes are hard to see. I love the composition of the shot, and the alertness of your dog, you captured a nice moment.

These are nice snapshots of your dog but neither is a well thought out photograph with meaning behind it.

Well I have to disagree. You obviously weren't there when these were taken so you wouldn't know the "meaning" behind them, like I do. The first one, he was begging to go for a ride in the car with me and when I told him he had to "stay", that was the face he gave me. A very disappointed, child-like expression. The "meaning" behind the second one, is his complete and utter excitement for the first snow of the year.

Thank you to the others who actually gave constructive criticism. It's much appreciated and gives me an idea of what I can do to make my next photos better.

I think the first is cute; I like his expression.

edit: deleted C&C since this is in "Just for fun."

OK.