Dreaminginanalogue

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone,

I recently felt a bit neglectful of my K1000 since I have been shooting and experimenting with my digital set up.
I threw a bunch of rolls of film into my bag and headed off to the mountains for day of hiking with it. After about 4 photo's I went to advance the film but it made this horrid grinding sound, and the winding spool didn't spin. I had heard about K1000's winding gears breaking, so I was truly scared of that being the cause, as I am a student and can't front the kind of money it would take to get it repaired.
When I got home, I opened the back and sacrificed my 4 shots to see what was causing it.
The film advancing sprockets had torn the film and wasn't advancing the film at all. I was shooting with Fujifilm Superia X-tra 400 since it's cheap and I can buy in bulk from my work.
I've never had this issue for the first year of shooting with it, but I was shooting with expired Illford film from a previous job.

Is this a common thing for Superia X-tra 400? Do all cheaper films tend to tear at the sprockets?
Is this a common K1000 issue? If so, what practices do I have to adopt to avoid this in the future?

Thanks so much for your help!

I doubt it's the film. There's probably something in the camera's rewind mechanism that is stopping the spool in the film can from turning and allowing the film to feed out.

Be sure you have pressed the spool release before rewinding.

Hi.