My first newbie C&C pics -

guitar guy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I haven't gone outside of the house with my new D3000 since I got in about three weeks ago. So, since I happened to score a brand new still-in-the-box Nikon VR 55-200mm lens last night from a guy on CL (130$, so I think I did pretty well) I decided to play hooky from work today and head out to the Minnesota Zoo to see how it works.

I am a complete newbie so I really don't know what I'm doing, and I just sort of played around with F stops and Shutter speed until my meter zeroed out. It was poor, rain forest interior lighting, so it was challenging. Tried to hold the camera as still as I could-- that's the extent of my knowledge thus far. So anyway, here's what I consider my best results.

TOO DARK

DSC_0028.jpg

BAD COMPOSITION

DSC_0050.jpg

A LITTLE BETTER

DSC_0051.jpg

I KIND OF LIKE THIS ONE

DSC_0041.jpg

THIS BIRD WAS NICE TO ME

DSC_0040.jpg

SURE YOU'VE GOT ME IN FOCUS?

DSC_0058.jpg

HUNGRY HORSES ON MY WAY TO THE ZOO

DSC_0014.jpg

OKAY, THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH TODAY, BUT THIS IS MY OTHER HOBBY :mrgreen:

Picture005.jpg

Last edited:
If that guitar is new then "congratulations"!

All your photos are centred. Very much so. If you keep centering your subjects in the way you did with each and every bird, you yourself will soon stop and wonder, why you begin to find your photography boring (happened to me, that's how I know). And you will find out that NOT centering your subjects will make your photography more dynamic, less static. More alive. You hear people say "Rules are there to be broken". That may be OK once you KNOW all the rules and have DECIDED to break something like the famous "Rule of Thirds" for a specific reason. But as long as you're still learning, compositional rules can be very helpful guidelines into successful photography.