My first post and photo (critique please!)

mstandefer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

This is my first time posting in the photo forum. I've never shared my photographs via discussion board, but I want to do something different. Friends and family don't always give you honest feedback.

My first post is a baby (I shoot lots of children) at work. We use them on our blog, facebook, etc. (always with a talent release/consent form). I am by no means a professional, my primary role is a social worker. Photography is a growing hobby!

Please just be honest. Should I crop the person holding the baby to the right? Leave it? I like the DOF so I don't know if I want to crop it in too close. I really don't know how to take the person out of the shot altogether... I did adjust some settings on Lightroom to get the color the way it is.. settings: ISO 800, 50 mm, f/3.5, 1/60sec.

Thanks,

M

$BabyBlue1.jpg

Last edited:
Did you use a preset? The WB looks off. The whites should be white and not so murky. The image is adorable, but the composition needs some work. Right now you just have a child dead center in the middle of the image which makes it look like a snapshot. Use the rule of thirds next time, or try to catch a connection between the child and the person holding them. Chopping the head off in this case isn't working either, and I am usually okay with it. The backround is distracting in this case, but cropping in closer won't do much good either because you will lose more of the head.

Thank you for your feedback. Yes, I did use a preset. I liked how it brought out the blue in the child's eyes, but I now see that it is very murky in the whites.

It was meant to be a snapshot type of photo, but I wish I didn't crop the child's head. I was too quick, trying to take it while he was looking. I was focused more on the eyes, rather than getting the head in, something to remember!