My First Wedding Shoot. Please C&C

DanPonjican

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.detailinggurus.com
After much begging and pleading, I reluctantly agreed to shoot my sister-in-law's wedding this past weekend. I'm no pro and not even a seasoned hobbiest. In any event, I'm interested in your opinions, critisms or props (yeah right!). Overall, I supposed I am satisfied with the results considering my experience level.

I shot with my Canon XT, Speedlite 580EX II (with a GF universal cloud diffuser) and either a Tamron AF17-50mm F/2.8 lens or a Canon 50mm F1.8 portrait lens.

Here is a link to the gallery:
http://dan.ponjican.com/ElizabethandPaul/index.htm

I think they are good, especially as its your first go, maybe there is a bit to much skin softening on a couple of photos...

hopefully you enjoyed your self too

Not bad for a first wedding. I don't care for the white arbor thing in the background I think it is distracting. I also think the portriats of her alone are a little dark and you can see that her dress has been put over the chair. Maybe crop in a little closer so that the train is not so visible.

You might get more response if you posted a few of your favorites here, or if you picked out a few you specifically wanted some critique on.

very good... Hope I do as well on my first time. Did you think the lenses you used did the trick?
I definitely liked the versatility of the Tamron lens. It seemed to accomplish most everything I was looking to get.

Here's a couple of my favorite shots:

IMG_3015.jpg

IMG_3002.jpg

IMG_3025s.jpg

IMG_3098%20Fixed%20Wall%20from%20RAW%20B%26W.jpg

If that is your first attempt....god help us when you've had some practice !!

You obviously have the talent to capture moments that matter. I like your shots alot!