Need help fast for a friend's wedding

PhotoFanatic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm shooting a friend wedding next week and this is my first attempt at wedding photography. I really don't want to screw it up so I need some quick tips regarding camera setting and such. I'm very new to photography so I need all the professional advice I can get. I need to know what camera setting do you use for the church ( in the morning right before noon), there will be some shot in church and outside. On top of that, there will be a reception later on in the evening, so what setting would be perfect for such a setting.

I don't have a lot of money for the equipment but this is what I have to work with: Nikon D100, SB600 Speedlight, Nikon 50mm f/1.8, Nikon 24-50mm f/3.3. Thanks

Just to reassure you, I'm not going to be the main and only photographer there. I'm just going to take some extra shot that the professional photographer might leave out.

Ummmm...how familar are you with your camera? Because if your totally confident then I would suggest that you set your camera to one of the automatic modes or P....

As you are not the official photographer you could aim for some candids of the happy couple and guests...

As you are not the official photographer you could aim for some candids of the happy couple and guests...

That's exactly what I'm gonna do. I'm pretty familiar with my camera, but do not fully understand which setting as far as the combination of ISO and aperture to use.

Go to the church around and practice beforehand. Every church has different lighting so it's impossible to advise you on what settings to use. Talk to the pastor/priest/offical to see what restrictions they have for flash use, most don't allow it so you'll need high ISO settings to get a good image.