Need help finding camera for travel!

kirebatti

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey there :)

First of all, I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to photography. The only cameras I ever used were cheap compact cameras and some film cameras my school provided.
But now I am preparing for a really long backpacking trip and I need a compact camera that will capture all those yet-to-come memories.
My problem is that I know what I want, but not what to look for.

Basically it should be able to film HD-Videos, take good pictures and fit into my backpack. Now, to be clear, I don't want the photos to have a resolution so high that I could print wallpapers from them,
but I really care about the colours. When I tried to take pictures of the indian summer a couple years ago, my dad's cheap sh**ty camera turned the red and yellow to a lame grey-ish brown :thumbdown: Maybe it also had to do
with my skill level though :wink:

As you may notice, I really have no knowledge about cameras :blushing:
Any advice on what may meet my expectations?

Thank you, kirebatti :)

Hey!

Actually I am also looking for a camera, and don't know much about them. But as I am doing my research I came across Pentax K-30. I don't know your budget. But I have heard good things about it. The one BIG advantage of this camera is that it is weather-resistant, and is very tough! which will be a great advantage as you will be traveling.
you can check out its review here: Pentax K-30 Review | PhotographyBLOG

Check out this video:

Other than these you have not much expensive DSLRs like: Nikon D5100, D3200 or D3100. I have heard that Nikon D3100 might be the best entry level DSLR. I also found Canon EOS 600D very interesting. But it really depends on you what you need and how you feel the camera in your hand.