Need Help on Nikon D 300

dkofikyei

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there,
I am a rookie in photography, but guess what, I have been given an awesome gift of a Nikon D 300 Camera. Hmm, I have tried using the camera based on what the product manual recommends.

However, I realize that in most of the photos I take, the background gets into a sharp focus whilst the target is blurred.

I would be elated if anyone could help me with a step by step approach to setting the camera for effective use for three main settings. Sunny day Soccer photography, indoor still usage and soccer photography at night times (under floodlights).

My camera comes with two lenses, 70-300mm (1:4-5.6G) and 18-135mm (1:3.5-5.6G ED).

This is because your not getting the autofocus point onto your target. You need to track the target and pan along with it then push the button down half way to get it to AF then when its focused on that hit the shutter. the other thing you can do is use a bigger F number which will give you more of your image in focus so its more fogiving if you miss.

Hi there,
I am a rookie in photography, bur guess what, I have been given an awesome gift of a Nikon D 300 Camera. Hmm, I have tried using the camera based on what the product manuel recommends.

However, I realise that in most of the photos I take, the backgroug gets into a sharp focus whilst the target is blured.

I would be elated if anyone could help me with a step by step approach to setting the camera for effective use for thress main settings. Sunny day Soccer photography, indoor still usage and soccer photography at night times (under floodlights).

My camera comes with two lenses, 70-300mm (1:4-5.6G) and 18-135mm (1:3.5-5.6G ED).

Hi dko,

congrats on that D300! That is a mighty fine camera. Now it's up to you to learn how to use it properly.

First order of business is how to get pictures with the subject in focus. That's on pages 22, 47, 48, 49, 51, 52, 62, 63, 66, 67, and 68 of your D300 manual.