Need help starting in Photography

CoryG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a few questions i need answered before i decide to jump into the world of photography

Im a graphic designer looking to get into photography. Since i have background in photoshop and other photo editors i will be able to touch them up.

1: What makes photography fun, challenging, or worth doing?

2: What should i take pictures of?

(Im going to Atlantic City, NJ next month and can take pictures of the beach and boardwalk)

3: Why do you like to take part in photography?

and now a few setup questions

1: What is a camera that can take hi-res pictures for under $100

2: What else do i need.

Im starting a website next month for my Graphic Design company and wanted to do some photography on the side.

I'm not a professional, photography is just a hobby for me...but what would make it worth learning is knowing I could create quality memories for myself and other people through my expertise and knowledge. That would be worth it to me.

Take pictures of anything, everything, from every different angle, laying down, leaning over, standing on something, you name it, do it. You never know what you could get. To be a photographer I believe you need to have a vision of what the picture COULD BE, not what it is but what it could be, then you find a way to make it come alive in a way someone else hasn't before...or even if someone has, you can still make it come alive for you. Be open to criticism because it will be a great teacher.

A camera under $100? That is a very low low price range. Either look for something used (ebay, craigslist, etc) or you can look into something like the Canon A1200. But under $100 you will likely not find anything with really fantastic photos and manual settings. But then again, it is not always the camera, but the person behind it. However, having a small auto camera will severely limit you especially in low light conditions, etc.