Need help understanding lenses

Vilatus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everybody!

I'm still very new to all this, so I need a little help. Can anybody explain what all the abbreviations in lens titles are? For example "Nikon Micro NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G AF-S DX Macro Lens"

I'm confused as to why lenses that look the same cost such wildly different amounts, so I assume it would help if I knew this. Also, how do I identify the mount of the lens? Is it in that jumble of letters?

Thank you!

Ok. This lens is 40mm focal length. The AF-S means it has an ultrasonic motoe built in, ths means it will work on any modern nikon camera whether it has a motor in the camera body or not. F2.8 means its aperture opens up to f2.8, this is a fraction of its length, so the smaller the number the bigger the aperture. You'll generally find larger aperture lenses are more desired and expensive because the let in more light. The DX means it is designed for a crop (dx) nikon camera. There are 2 types of nikon dslr (dx and fx). Dx has a smaller sensor and fx has a larger one.

Hi everybody!

I'm still very new to all this, so I need a little help. Can anybody explain what all the abbreviations in lens titles are? For example "Nikon Micro NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G AF-S DX Macro Lens"

I'm confused as to why lenses that look the same cost such wildly different amounts, so I assume it would help if I knew this. Also, how do I identify the mount of the lens? Is it in that jumble of letters?

Thank you!