Need help with Canon 6D problems concerning back buttons

qat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey,
This is my first time posting here, and I hope I got the correct forum for this kind of question!

Anyway,

Briefly: The buttons on my 6D has been re-routed after water damage.

Today I was out shooting surfers on the beach with my Canon 6D and a 70-200mm f/2.8 ISII attached to it. I was standing so that water reached the top of my knees, and the camera around my shoulder with the lens pointing downwards. Suddenly a big wave hit me, and my dear 70-200mm lens got totally soaked, my camera only some minor splashed droplets around the bottom right corner where no buttons or anything are located.

After close inspection I realised that the main quick control dial had some water on it that I removed by blowing on it.

My 70-200mm is weather sealed and survived without any difficulties whatsoever.

My 6D however, has become a nightmare to use. I am unsure of if the problems was caused by the minor droplets or has anything to do with it at all or if its just something normal that you can change in settings.
But all the buttons on the back except for a few has been "re-routed" so to speak.

The Q btn. for example, my favourite button, which has somehow got the same function as the DRIVE, START/STOP, and the PREVIEW at the same time just after the event, I had previously, right the splash scenario, used it to customise the function of the AF-ON btn. and it had worked perfectly.

Below is a list of what has become what (that I know so far)
e.g. "btn" : "has become"
Erase: , Erase
LOCK: Unaffected
Multi-controller ←: MENU, ←
Multi-controller ↑: Unaffected
Multi-controller ↓: INFO, ↓
Multi-controller →: Unaffected
SET: Unaffected
Quick ctrl Dial wheel: Unaffected
Playback [►]: Unaffected
Q: START/STOP, [►], Q,
Index/Magnify/Reduce btn.: Unaffected
START/STOP: Unaffected
AF-ON: Unaffected
AE LOCK * : Unaffected