Need help with focusing issues.

yakapo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Canon T4i / 420EX / 18-135mm stm

Newbie here.

I few days ago, I took lots of pictures at a family gathering. Most of the time, I bounced the flash off the ceiling. Most everyone like the pics, but I didn't like them at all. When I took shots at a distance, the faces were out of focus. I usually shoot in aperture priority but... I really didn't want to mess these up so I just shot them in auto. It's possible that the aperture was wide open.

I know the camera has a face detection feature, but I don't like to shoot in the live view. Do you have to manually chose your focus points and put the red dot on an eye every time you shoot people? Is there a camera that has face detection even when shooting from the viewfinder? I'm so frustrated that I'm ready to sell everything. I realize the problem is most likely user error - but I'm frustrated. Maybe I'm asking for the impossible but I want the camera to focus on people's faces.

The camera can only focus at 1 distance from the camera, regardless what focus mode you use.
See the Index - page 368 - and all the Focusing sub-section subject pages listed there of your Canon T4i Instruction Manual.

But yes, you need to put the focus point indicator on something at that 1 distance from the camera.
We then rely on the depth-of-field (DoF) to be sufficiently deep to have other peoples faces in acceptably sharp focus. The DoF is distributed both in front of and behind the point of focus (PoF)
DoF gets shallower as PoF distance decreases, and as lens aperture gets larger.
Note - f/3.5 is a larger lens aperture than f/5.6 is.

Understanding Camera Autofocus
Understanding Depth of Field in Photography

The camera can only focus at 1 distance from the camera, regardless what focus mode you use.
See the Index, page 368 and all the Focusing sub-section pages listed there of your Canon T4i Instruction Manual.