Need help with sutdio lighting setup

zapman29

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Sorry may have been asked before but I am very new to studio lighting. I just bought a basic studio set.. Right now I am using a strobe light it has a 100 watt modeling lamp with a 150watt flash bulb, with an umbrella. with our with out the umbrealla, every shot I take is nothing but white flash over my subject. Its is drowned in it.. I have turned down my flash all the way and moved it further away fromt he subject, still the same...

Now I am thinking i must need to set the camera up but really dont know how.. Any help or links would be great thanks in advance...

did you try increasing the F-stop? I have no experience with studio lighting at all so i don't know about the light settings etc.. but using a smaller aperture should work (greater in number)

If you have a flash meter, use it. Otherwise, stop down.

"stop down" was what i was trying to say.. jargon busting.

Sorry may have been asked before but I am very new to studio lighting. I just bought a basic studio set.. Right now I am using a strobe light it has a 100 watt modeling lamp with a 150watt flash bulb, with an umbrella. with our with out the umbrealla, every shot I take is nothing but white flash over my subject. Its is drowned in it.. I have turned down my flash all the way and moved it further away fromt he subject, still the same...

Now I am thinking i must need to set the camera up but really dont know how.. Any help or links would be great thanks in advance...

150ws isn't all that powerful for studio lighting... and if you have a 100w modelling light and a 150ws strobe - then the strobe is only 50% brighter than the modelling light... So it must be your camera settings...
Post your camera settings (aperture, shutter speed, iso) and we can make an informed comment
Jedo

Shoot at about ISO 100, shutter speed 200, and the adjust the aperture to control the exposure on your subject.