Need some help :)

stacy85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to this and am finally starting to learn how to take great pictures--the thing is, i am completely overwhelmed by everything there is to know about taking professional looking photos! I have always loved taking pictures. When I finally got my first 'real' camera :)..i wanted to take it to a whole new level. I have a canon rebel t3i. Where do I even start trying to learn all there is to know? I love pictures that look like this [http://www.flickr.com/photos/yosigo/4670815511/in/photostream/]. Is that done with editing or is it just taken by a camera the right way? I have a one year old daughter and love taking pictures of her-just want to understand how and what to look for when I take the pics.

Sorry if my post doesn't make much sense--that's how much help I need :)

Thanks!

The key to professional looking photos is good composition and use of light.

All journeys start at the beginning, and progress one step at a time. You will not likely be making professional looking photos tomorrow, or next month, but you could be a year from today.

Last edited:
Welcome to the fun world of photography.

I feel much the same way as you do :D and I've been doing this for 5 years as a hobby (taking about 20k pics a year).

Your photo stream isn't working :( At least the link to it isn't! I would love to see some of your pictures!

I think the basics you can start with are things like ISO, shutter speed, exposure, white balance, aperture (depth of field), etc. Those all play a role in how your photo is exposed and developed. First and foremost, learn your camera and lens inside and out. Do you have the 18-55mm kit lens? That's what came with my T1i. For being a kit lens, I think it does a fairly decent job. It's the only lens I've shot with outside of borrowing a friend's 70-300mm lens (don't recommend getting it however).