need to know whats a good camera

NuBbZ

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hey whats up guys im new here and kinda new to photography. i want to take it to the next level . i currently have a fujifilm 4.1 mp camera . my price range is around 200-250 $$ thanks for the help

Are you going digital or film?

If you're going digital, (from what I've seen) you won't be able to touch a decent SLR for under MAYBE $500 used. Even on Ebay I had trouble finding older DSLRS under $700.

So, I went film and bought a camera body (Canon EOS 650 in near mint condition), a Canon 50mm 1:18 lens, a bag for the equipment, film, a monopod (I meant to get a tripod, but accidentally got a mono without knowing the difference) all for under $300. The bad thing is there is constant cost with buying and developing film (although, you can cut some of this if you develop your own), but that is the only major downfall for me. I'm new to SLR photography and changing ISO isn't something I've experiemented with (which is something you can do on the fly with digital, as opposed to film, where you have to change the whole roll (for a 35mm), but I enjoy my camera. A lot.

I'm not well versed in gear to give you advice or know all the stuff to have a digital vs. film debate, but it's up to you and what you want to do and how much you photograph. With film, the more you do it, the more expensive it gets, obviously.

I'll let the more experienced give you more sound adivce...

i agree with weaving wax that at this budget you will not get anything decent in digital.....depends on how you define "good"....what is your expectation....i have a canon a75 that i dont use anymore and i would consider it being a very nice P&S.....and for sure you can get it for under $200....but would you want something so old?....it is only 3.2MP....but the result is very nice.......matter of preference