Needing some advice on lighting equipment

Netskimmer

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys,

I'm thinking of fleshing out my lighting gear a bit. I'm an amateur and I don't really do any kind of studio work. I'm mostly just out and about with the camera, a few lenses and a hot shoe flash but I'd like to do some studio type macro as well as things like water drops, breaking water balloons ect. I was wondering what brand of OCF soft box you would recommend. I am also not sure if I should get radio receivers and a transmitter or just buy transceivers. Leaning towards Cactus V5s. Here is a list of things I am thinking of getting.

Speed light SB-910

Amazon.com: Nikon 4809 SB-910 Speedlight Supplied with; AS-21 Speedlight Stand; SW-13H Nikon Diffusion Dome; SZ-2FL Fluorescent Filter; SZ-2TN Incandescent Filter; SS-910 Soft Case: NIKON: Camera & Photo

I am currently using a Vivitar 285HV and while it does ok, I would like something a little more versatile for field work and I just really want an SB-910.

Manfrotto 420NSB

Amazon.com: Manfrotto 420NSB 3- Section Combi- Boom Stand without Sand Bag - Replaces 3398B (Black): Camera & Photo

Manfrotto is a good name brand and I like the versatility of the light stand/ boom combo.

Neewer 110CM

Amazon.com: Neewer 110CM 43" 5-in-1 Collapsible Multi-Disc Light Reflector: Electronics

Not to sure about the brand but I have heard people time and again talk about how much a good reflector can improve your photography (once you learn how to use them).

So what do you guys think, am I on the right track?

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I am a fan if photo flex for cool lights and chimera for hot lights.

Check out the pocket wizard X transceivers. Good price and hassle free.