New Camera and a couple questions

UrFavSigma

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just upgraded from the Nikon D3000 to the Nikon D3100 (because of video)

1) When I'm trying to shoot in Aperture Priority, I get a delayed shutter release when I'm not using a flash. I didn't have the issue with the D3000. How can I correct this?

2) I take quite a bit of pix at dance competitions. As you know, there is alot of movement. What's a "general" setting in Shutter Priority to use when shooting people that are stepping, dancing, etc?

Sorry for the very noobish questions.

im a noob as well but was reading my manual today!

in AV mode you are only setting the aperture, the camera will then work out the best shutter speed and iso to go with it, so you may need to increase/decrease the aperture depending on the lighting

UrFavSigma said:

1) When I'm trying to shoot in Aperture Priority, I get a delayed shutter release when I'm not using a flash. I didn't have the issue with the D3000. How can I correct this?

2) I take quite a bit of pix at dance competitions. As you know, there is alot of movement. What's a "general" setting in Shutter Priority to use when shooting people that are stepping, dancing, etc?

1. I'm not sure exactly what it is since I don't know what the other settings are but it could be that the camera is choosing a really slow shutter speed

2. A fast shutter speed. Use shutter priority

UrFavSigma said:

1. I'm not sure exactly what it is since I don't know what the other settings are but it could be that the camera is choosing a really slow shutter speed

Yes I know a fast shutter speed but I'm trying to stay away from auto modes and learn the manual modes. Thats why I was asking about a general setting.