new DSLR user, choosing between Canon bodies and lenses

meluveitie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all,

I am new to the DSLR world (I have used the Canon Rebel XSI but still very novice) so I apologize in advance for any amateur stance I may have on this topic, but I'm really looking to get some good advice from more experienced users. I'm looking for a good Canon camera body that I can upgrade easily with high quality lens, yet still want a good quality body if I happen to seek out photography more professionally. I've mostly settled on choosing between the the T3i, the 60D, and the 7D. I am primarily interested in shooting cityscapes, architecture, indoor and low light/night shots. I am confused as to what lens(es) to start out with as I was told not to get the kit that typically comes with the body and buy the glass separately. The only thing I've been consistently recommended to purchase is the Canon EF 50 mm f/1.8 II, since I'm interested in high quality indoor and low light shots, but I know this has no zoom capability and even though I don't plan on making the zoom function a primary interest as of yet (I hear this is more useful for things like wildlife photos) but didn't want to rule out the possibility of using it. I wasn't sure if there were any decent quality multi-purpose lens kits that would be recommended if any at all. Basically, I want a good lens kit to start out with that can really help me learn the technical aspects, that doesn't have to be completely high end but doesn't suffer too much in quality. My price range is about 1000-1200 max.

Any feedback would be appreciated!

Lets have a look at the core of what you want from the setup:

Low light - indoor - night time - cityscapes and architecture.