New Nikon D300 set up.

jjprit

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Yes this is the Nikon D3000. D300 in the title was a type.

I got a new Nikon d3000 i heard alot about it and its a great entry level camera. With it i have a 70-300 Tamron smallest fstop is 4-5.6. I usually shoot around 5.6 because i want a nice soft background when i take portraits. And i was told always take pictures no closer then 75mm? is that true?

I had a few questions about the initial settings im changing and was wondering if some of you pros can help me. First of all i want to state that im a inspiring photographer that is an advanced photoshop user and i shoot everything in RAW format and do not have a light meter so i want to use the internal reflective light meter the camera come with but i do have a grey card. so here we go.

Shooting Menu ( Please i know this is long but i want to know YOUR input on my decisions and maybe it will help me change something of confirm why im doing it )

1)picture control = SD ---becuase i shoot in raw any way so that doesnt matter i heard. it over writes it. its for jpeg users
2) Img Quility = RAW -- Cuz i like raw :)
3) White Balance Auto -- I really never touched this maybe u have some input to change?
4) Iso sensitivity = off --- i was always told to keep this off
5) Active D Lighting = off -- Alot of times i use a fill flash for pictures during the day and still black out the background. Controlling the Ambient light, dont want the camera fixing any light i dont want
6) color space = sRGB -- i heard that adobe is better for certain types of print but most of my work will be on basic 4x6 5x7 or digital. Also sRGB goes from your red to ur purples complete.
7) noise reduction = off -- Dont want camera adding noise before post preduction. i can add noise if needed in photoshop
8) Release mode = Continuous -- I do this becuase i take portraits outside, people blink hair gets blown around so 2-3 pictures each shot usually gets me a good one.