New Orleans: C&C, guidance needed for a noob

nola.ron

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Please keep in mind I am a total noob! I am looking for guidance to see how I am doing so far. This is my 2nd week with my camera and really the first planned day I had to go shooting. These pictures are in full manual mode. I did take 1 picture in auto mode just to compare to my manual settings, but I don't believe that 1 picture is included here.

Looking for specific guidance on the following:
- How am I doing in manual mode?
- How is my general exposure?
- How is composition?
- Could my photos be more clear/crisp?
- How is focusing?
- How is my PP?
- Am I doing anything right?
- What am I doing wrong?

Thank you everyone!!

1. I didn't pull this off the way I wanted... I wanted the leaves to be sharp and in focus with the skyline OOF. How could I have fixed this? Lower aperture?

Fall by nola-ron, on Flickr

Cathedral by nola-ron, on Flickr

Cathedral 2 by nola-ron, on Flickr

4. This was a pain. There was a lot of traffic because of the tourism boom for NYE, and I couldn't get far enough back to get the top of the roof.

Cafe Du Monde by nola-ron, on Flickr

5. Not sure about this one... I had a vision for it, but didn't execute. Not sure how I could have made it better.

Repairs by nola-ron, on Flickr

6. I know I blew the sky out here in the top right... I tried to correct in post. Is it acceptable, or should I just trash it?

Lucky Dog by nola-ron, on Flickr

7. Not sure on composition here. I think this is worthless, even though it is "pretty" to my eyes.

Jax by nola-ron, on Flickr

8. Underexposed and poor framing, right?

Jax River Side by nola-ron, on Flickr

9. Just not sure what is wrong here...

GNO River by nola-ron, on Flickr

Looking for specific guidance on the following: over all
- How am I doing in manual mode? as good as me:)
- How is my general exposure? nice