New Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 or Cracked Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8

daniel.garcia

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am an amateur photographer in need of a 70-200mm f/2.8. I have been eyeballing the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 for a while now and at $699, new, it's a great price. I know the biggest set back on that lens is the poor AF quality. Right before I pulled the trigger on purchasing the Tamron, I found an awesome deal on a Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8 (two-ring version) for $620. Its not the range I want but I'm hoping I can deal with the 10mm. The catch with the Nikon is that the A/M focus ring is cracked, which is the major design flaw of this model. I figure this could be a quick fix with some super glue or epoxy. I am just hesitant to purchase something that is already broken.

What would most of you do in this situation?

Buy the brand new Tamron which has the 70-200mm range and a 6 year warranty but suffers from poor AF or buy the used Nikon 80-200mm which is pro-glass but will need some work.

..And let me politely stop some of you now by letting you know I am on deployment to Afghanistan and can not justify spending $2000 on the Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8, as much as I would love to.

just a quick update to this thread.

i ended up buying the Sigma 70-200 HSM II (non-OS) which I kept for all of maybe a week. The lack of OS/VR caused a lack of sharpness since I shoot completely in hand.. instead of exchanging it for the OS model I bit the bullet and got a used Nikon 70-200 VRI. The difference in image quality between the sigma and nikon were like night and day. It's gonna be pro nikon glass for me from now on!

Last edited: