New to forum

pinkbomb542

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
First off, thank God I finally found a forum that is not based soley on digital photography.

My setup(try not to laugh): Yashica FX-2, Yashica 50mm 1:1.9 lens, Yashica 75-200mm 1: 4.5 lens, Tokina 2x converter, 60" collapsable tripod, and an equally cheap auto flash from Vivitar.

I am new to being enthused about photography and this was my setup in college except the 200mm and the 2x. My aunt recently was kind enough to give me those two because she had doubles of them and really was wanting to move to digital anyway. That inturn sparked my new enthusiasm as soon as I saw what a difference the lenses make.
Anyway, to get to my point, I was looking at this 500mm Vivitar lens on ebay.CLICK HERE

here are my questions...
Would this lens work with my 2x converter making it a 1000mm?
Would this lenses macro capability be more powerful than my current 75-200mm lense?
How does Vivitar compare to other lens makers?

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
It's an ok lens for the price, I've heard that their mirror design is superior, but this is an unconfirmed info.

Doesn't matter what equipment you have. As long as you keep taking pics and learning.

Welcome to the forum. I can't help you much, cause I only had experience with Canon stuff.

Welcome,

First off, that particular lens appears to have a mount for Canon EOS (auto focus) cameras and therefore would not fit your Yashica. You could get an adapter I'm sure though.

Is your Yashica auto focus? This lens has a constant aperture of F8. Which means that auto focus will probably not work...and looking through the viewfinder will be fairly dark. If you tried to use it with a 2X teleconvertor...it would be almost impossible to see through the viewfinder.

This lens would have more magnification than your 75-200mm but the minimum focus distance is 5.5 feet. That's not very good for any macro photography.