New to photography: Affordable equipment for Macro Photography with Olympus PEN E-PL2

xhatox

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to photography, and noticed your forum when I was searching for answers to a question I have had for a couple of weeks now.

After seeing some amazing photos and getting a good price on an Olympus PEN E-PL2, I realized that I am unable to take extreme closeups. While I am 100% happy with the camera itself, I would like to take macro photos of items the size of small pieces of chocolate, AAA batteries, buttons etc.

The issue I am facing is that the lenses seem so expensive. Honestly, I do not know much about photography, and after searching the past two weeks, I hope a camera expert on this forum can offer some good suggestions.

Right now I have two lenses: the kit lens which is a 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 II, 0.25m/0.82 ft Olympus lens and a 40-150mm 1:4-5.6, 0.90m/2.96 ft Olympus lens that the seller kindly gave me for free.

I have been trying to find affordable/cheap equipment, but feel overwhelmed.

I have been looking at density filters, but a lot of the filters that are listed as fitting the E-PL2 state "37mm"/the 14-42mm lens, but I don't understand where this number comes from or what it means. There are some positive reviews for macro filters, but again, I don't know anything about photography so have no idea what fits. I also noticed that there are macro converters (ie. Olympus MCON-P02 is the only one I can figure out that works for the E-PL2, but the reviews state it doesn't add much extra zoom) as well as more affordable macro lenses (Holga and Vivitar for example).

Are the macro filters comparable to macro converters, and are affordable macro lenses any better than those? Which is the best of the three? How can I tell which filter, converter, or lenses will work with my camera?