New to photography, any tips?

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a webdesigner by trade so I have always have to use cameras but I have never actually used a camera properly. I want to learn more about photography but there are no part time courses in my area. I have joined a local photography club but it seems I need a degree just to learn all of the options on my camera! (Canon 30D).

Does anyone have any suggestions on any books etc that may help. I have tried reading my cameras manual but it makes no sense to me.

Thanks,

Chris Davidson

i think everyone including myself has read this [ame="http://www.amazon.com/Understanding-Exposure-Photographs-Digital-Updated/dp/0817463003/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1224578992&sr=8-1"]Understaning Exposure[/ame]

You've got a pretty good camera there. Have a look through the links in my signature. They'll give you a good foundation in the basics of photography.

http://images.photoworkshop.com/rebelxtlessons/interface.html

The above link is not for your camera. But it is very similar to your 30D. The lessons will give you a basic idea on the camera system as well as photography in general such as shutter speed, aperture, ISO, flash, lenses ....

It helped me when I 1st got my DSLR late march this year (I did not any clue about my camera and settings at that time, and it helped me a lot. At least got me enough basic knowledge to learn more)

Check out 123Di here

Great Software for Learning

I started out by checking out photography on google. Then I went to the library and checked out pretty much every book that had to do with photography. I take the camera every where I go, and just keep shooting!
Experiment with all the different functions on your camera. And experiment with the editing process. Some of the better pictures that I have taken are because of the editing. The more pictures you take, the better you will be with it.